Canvas @ YaleInstructor Guides External Apps to use with Canvas @ YaleGradescope: Syncing and Managing Your Canvas Roster

Gradescope: Syncing and Managing Your Canvas Roster

Gradescope can be synced with your Canvas roster to give you students, guest instructions, teaching fellows, and other course participants access to your Gradescope course. Gradescope will map your Canvas course roles to the 4 available Gradescope roles. Use the Gradescope roster to manage user access and permissions.

Not all Canvas roles can be mapped perfectly to Gradescope, which has a much more reduced / limited permission set for each Gradescope role.

Syncing Your Roster in Canvas to Gradescope

  1. In your Gradescope course created from Canvas, open the "Roster" section from the left navigation menu and click the "Sync Canvas Roster" button.
  1. In the pop-up box that opens, select the Canvas course to sync if it is not already selected in the "Linked Canvas Course" section.
  2. Optionally uncheck “Let users know that they were added to the course” to avoid unnecessary emails to your class.
  3. Once ready, click the "Sync Roster" button.
  1. Once the roster is synced, users who were added from Canvas will have a chain link icon in the “Canvas” column.
  2. Users will have their "Role" mapped from their Canvas role and mirrored in Gradescope.

Changing a User's Role

  1. Navigate to the "Roster" section of your Gradescope course.
  2. Click the drop-down menu in the "Role" column for the user you want to change the role of. The role options available are:
    1. Student - can view and submit to available assignments
    2. Instructor - can add / remove users, create and edit assignments, grade / regrade assignment, and create / link courses
    3. TA - can add / remove users, create and edit assignments, but their names are anonymous to students when grading and cannot duplicate courses
    4. Reader - can add / remove users, create and edit assignments, but their names are anonymous to students when grading and cannot duplicate courses
  1. Once selected, the role is applied immediately—no saving or updating is necessary.

Removing a User

  1. Navigate to the "Roster" section of your Gradescope course.
  2. Click the red "X" button for the user in the "Remove" column.
  1. The user is removed immediately—no saving or updating necessary.

Identifying Students Using Name and Student ID (UPI)

Students can look up their UPI in Yale Directory, and it is printed on their ID cards as well.

  1. You can have your students identify themselves by both their Name (First / Last) and Student ID, which in Gradescope is mapped to their Yale UPI. In Canvas, the SIS ID is the Yale UPI.
  1. In Gradescope, this is the Student ID, visible if you edit the student in the Roster. To see the Student ID, first hover over the name until the “Edit” icon appears for you to click.
  1. In the pop-up box that opens, the Student ID (Yale UPI / SIS ID) will be near the bottom of the box.

For more help, please contact the vendor at help@gradescope.com or canvas@yale.edu.