Canvas @ YaleGeneral Information General InformationTerm Dates Vs. Course Dates & Concluding / Resetting Courses

Term Dates Vs. Course Dates & Concluding / Resetting Courses

This article describes the differences between term dates and course dates. It also provides details and instructions on concluding and resetting courses

Canvas @ Yale Term Dates

Term dates for a course can be overridden by Course Dates. Check out the Course Dates section below for more information.

Term dates are set globally in [email protected], which help to manage user's "Dashboard" and the "All Courses" list. Based on a course's term, the course will display under the "Current Enrollments" heading or "Past Enrollments" heading.

Courses that are concluded by Term dates are still visible to all instructors and participants, but cannot be modified after the Term end date (Admins can intervene to undo this).

Academic Year Term End Dates

Academic Year Fall, Spring & Summer Semesters
Academic Year 2022-2023 August 31, 2023
11:59pm
Academic Year 2021-2022 August 31, 2022
11:59pm
Academic Year 2020-2021 August 31, 2021
11:59pm
Academic Year 2019-2020
August 31, 2020
11:59pm
Academic Year 2018-2019
August 31, 2019
11:59pm

Fiscal Year Term Start & End Dates

Fiscal Year Term Start End
FY23 July 1, 2022 12:00am
June 30, 2023 11:59pm
FY22 July 1, 2021 12:00am June 30, 2022 11:59pm
FY21 July 1, 2020 12:00am
June 30, 2021 11:59pm
FY20 July 1, 2019 12:00am
June 30, 2020 11:59pm
FY19 July 1, 2018 12:00am
June 30, 2019 11:59pm

Course Dates

To prevent students from being able to participate after the course end date, instructors will need to also select the option "Users can only participate in the course between these dates." Courses that are concluded by the course dates are still visible to all instructors and participants.

Course dates do not override term dates unless you also select the check box for "Users can only participate in the course between these dates."

Course dates override the default Term dates for a course, which allows instructors to give students access to participate in the course before or after the set term date. Course dates are set at the individual course level through the course's "Settings" area by changing the "Participation" setting from "Term" to "Course."

Manually Concluded Courses

A manually concluded course can be undone by an administrator.

Courses can be concluded manually by clicking the "Conclude" button in a course's "Settings" area. Manually concluded courses are still visible to all participants, but cannot be modified.

Student enrollments are shifted to "Prior Enrollments" and will not appear within the People tool unless you opt to view prior enrollments.

Reset Courses

A reset course can be undone by an administrator.

Resetting a course deletes the course site and creates a brand new empty course shell for the course, which only contains the user enrollments from the original site.

Course Access by Role Upon Term / Course / Manual Conclusion / Course Reset

Based on the role a user has in a course, their level of access and permissions will be different given how the course is concluded (e.g. through term dates, course dates, manual conclusion, or course reset). Review the chart below for more details about what permissions each role in a course has based on these conclusion scenarios.

Role Permission Term Date Conclude
Course Date Conclude
Manual Conclude
DELETED Reset Course NEW Reset Course
Instructor







Can view course
YES YES
YES
NO
YES

Can add/edit content
NO YES
NO NO
YES

Course appears in Dashboard
NO YES
NO NO
YES

Course appears in Past Enrollments
YES YES
YES
NO
NO
Student







Can view course
YES YES2
YES
NO
YES

Can add/edit content
NO YES3
NO NO
YES

Course appears in Dashboard
NO NO NO NO
YES

Course appears in Past Enrollments
YES YES
YES
NO
NO
General







Enrollments moved to "Prior Enrollments"
NO NO YES
NO
NO

Can import content into next term courses (or new site)
YES YES
YES NO
YES

Can be overridden/undone
YES1 YES4
YES5 YES6 YES7

Who can override/undo
Admin Instructor/Admin Admin Admin Admin

Offical Course - Banner Feed Fix?
NO NO YES?
YES? YES?
  1. Admin will need to temporarily move course into an active term, change course end date, return course to correct term.
  2. Students can see the course as long as the instructor has not selected the option to "Restrict students from viewing course after end date."
  3. Students can participate in the course as long as the instructor has not selected the option "Users can only participate in the course between these dates."
  4. Instructor or Admin can change the Course End date and/or the options from 2 & 3 above.
  5. Admin will need to "Un-Conclude" course and then add back all of the users (instructors, TAs, & students). Adding back the users will add back their assignment submissions.
  6. Resetting a course deletes the original copy of the course and creates a brand new empty course site which keeps all enrollments. The old site can be restored by an admin using the Canvas Course ID and by re-enrolling all users.
  7. If original copy of course is restored, new copy should be deleted by an Admin.

?.     Banner may over-write these changes during the next feed if the course is in a current, active term.

For more help, please contact [email protected].