Understanding Courses in Past Terms

Courses that are past their Term Dates or manually set Course Participation Dates are still visible to all instructors and participants, but prevent participation or modification after that date. Courses from previous terms are organized and accessible under the "All Courses" list from the Global Navigation menu.

Term Schedule

For fall, spring, and summer courses, the term end date has been set globally for August 31st.

For example:

  • Courses within the Fall 2019 term will be placed into past terms on August 31st, 2019.
  • Courses within the Spring 2019 term will be placed into past terms on August 31st, 2019.
  • Courses within the Summer 2019 term will be placed into past terms on August 31st, 2019.

Levels of Access in Past Term Courses

When course terms or participation dates pass, you will still maintain specific kinds of access to the course. View this table below to learn more about the kinds of actions and access each role retains once a term or participation date has concluded:

Action Term Date Conclude
Instructor
Can view course content YES
Can add/edit content
NO
Course appears in Dashboard
NO
Course appears in Past Enrollments section
YES
Student
Can view course content YES
Can add/edit content NO
Course appears in Dashboard NO
Course appears in Past Enrollments section YES
General
Course enrollments are identified as "Prior Enrollments" NO
Can import content into next term courses (or new site) YES
Can be overridden/undone YES
Who can override/undo ADMIN
Official Course- Banner Feed Fix? NO

Viewing Courses in Past Term

  1. In order to view courses from past terms (including those courses migrated from Classes*v2), click on "Courses" from the global navigation.
  2. From the side menu that appears, click “All Courses.”
  1. Under the "Past Enrollments" section, you will find a list of your past term courses.

Courses whose term ends with a "T" denote that they were "Transferred" from Classes*v2.

Adding Users to Courses in Past Terms

When the course is in the past term, you cannot add users to the course (the +People button in the People tool will be grayed out or not present). In order to unlock the course to add users, please check out our help article on unlocking courses in past terms.

When adding users to the unlocked course, the invited users must accept their invitation prior to the course resuming the past term, read-only state. If the user has not accepted the invitation, then the course will have to be unlocked again.

Project Sites in Past Term

Project Sites typically are given the fiscal year for term. Meaning that every July 1 project sites will be moved to the past term.

For example, a project site with the "FY19" term will go into the read-only state July 1, 2019, rather than the academic year term, "Fall 2019," which would conclude August 31, 2019. Please keep this in mind when requesting sites. 

Project Sites have to be requested for renewal each year by submitting this form: Project Site Request Form.

Please note that a consultation may be required to ensure that Canvas is still meeting the needs of the project site, or if there are any other new tools that might meet the needs of the project. 

For more help, please contact canvas@yale.edu.