Canvas @ YaleAdministrator Guides CoursesHow to Merge Course Sections

How to Merge Course Sections

NOTE:  This is not an official cross-listing process.  Courses that should be cross-listed in the registration system (Banner) will need to be done through the Registrar's Office.

Merging course sections allows you to move section enrollments from individual courses and combine them into one course. This feature is helpful for instructors who teach several sections of the same course and only want to manage course data in one location. Instructors can allow students to view users in other sections or limit them to only view users in the same section. Section names do not change when they are merged; the section is just moved to another course.

NOTE:  The individual section sites are not maintained.  If an instructor needs to have a combined site as well as the individual section sites, they will need to request an umbrella site through our umbrella site request form.

Merging should be done while the courses are still unpublished and no course work has been submitted by students.

You can re-merge the section if necessary, but each section can only be associated with one "parent" course.

Any "parent" section can contain mutiple children.

Although you can un-merge sections, you will not want to do so if students have alredy submitting assignments and classwork.

Before you begin this process, go to the "Settings" area of the course site you want to contain all sections and copy the "SIS ID" number.

Open Course Settings

In the course you want to merge (child section), go to the "Settings" area.

Open Sections Tab

Click on the "Sections" tab [1].  On the sections screen, click on the title of the appropriate section [2].

On the next screen, click the "Cross-List this Section" button [3].

In the pop-up that appears, paste the SIS ID of the "parent" course into the search textbox [4].  As the system searches for the course, the name of the course should automatically appear just below the search textbox - click on the course title [5].

Confirm Course

Verify that the course you have selected is correct [6]. If everything is correct, click the "Cross-List this Section" button [7].

Confirm Merged Sections

The merged section now appears in the new course. The breadcrumbs show the new course code [8].