Canvas @ YaleAdministrator Guides Administrator GuidesTerm Dates / Course Dates / Concluding & Resetting Courses

Term Dates / Course Dates / Concluding & Resetting Courses

This article describes the differences between term dates and course dates. It also provides details and instructions on concluding and resetting courses

Term Dates

Term dates that are set globally which help to manage user's "dashboard" and "all courses course lists" to show courses completed during a previous term under a "Past Enrollments" heading. Courses that are concluded by Term dates are still visible to all instructors and participants, but cannot be modified after the end date (Admins can intervene to undo this). Term dates can be overridden by course dates.

Canvas Term End Dates

Fiscal Year Terms

  Start End
FY22 July 1, 2022 12:01 am June 30, 2021 11:59pm
FY21 July 1, 2021 12:01 am June 30, 2020 11:59pm
FY20 July 1, 2020 12:01 am June 30, 2019 11:59pm
FY19 July 1, 2019 12:01 am June 30, 2018 11:59pm

Academic Terms

  Fall & Spring Summer
Academic Year 2021-2022 August 31, 2022 11:59pm August 31, 2022 11:59pm
Academic Year 2020-2021 August 31, 2021 11:59pm August 31, 2021 11:59pm
Academic Year 2019-2020 August 31, 2020 11:59pm August 31, 2020 11:59pm
Academic Year 2018-2019 August 31, 2019 11:59pm August 31, 2019 11:59pm

Course Dates

Course dates are set at the individual course level through the course's "Settings" area. Course dates override term dates which allows instructors to give students access to participate in the course after the term date as past. To prevent students from being able to participate after the course end date, instructors will need to also select the option "Users can only participate in the course between these dates". Courses that are concluded by the course dates are still visible to all instructors and participants.

Please note: Course dates do not override term dates unless you also select the check box for "Users can only participate in the course between these dates"

Manually Concluded Courses

Courses can be concluded manually by clicking the "Conclude" button in a course's "Settings" area. Manually concluded courses are still visible to all participants, but cannot be modified (this can be undone by an administrator). Student enrollments are shifted to "Prior Enrollments" and will not appear within the People tool unless you opt to view prior enrollments.

Reset Courses

Resetting a course deletes the course site and creates a brand new empty course shell for the course which only contains the user enrollments from the original site (this can be undone by an admin).

Course Access by Role

Role Permission Term Date Conclude
Course Date Conclude
Manual Conclude (click button)
OLD COPY Reset Course
NEW COPY Reset Course
Instructor







Can view course
YES YES
YES
NO
YES

Can add/edit content
NO YES
NO NO
YES

Course appears in Dashboard
NO YES
NO NO
YES

Course appears in Past Enrollments
YES YES
YES
NO
NO
Student







Can view course
YES YES2
YES
NO
YES

Can add/edit content
NO YES3
NO NO
YES

Course appears in Dashboard
NO NO NO NO
YES

Course appears in Past Enrollments
YES YES
YES
NO
NO
General







Enrollments moved to "Prior Enrollments"
NO NO YES
NO
NO

Can import content into next term courses (or new site)
YES YES
YES NO
YES

Can be overridden/undone
YES1 YES4
YES5 YES6 YES7

Who can override/undo
Admin Instructor/Admin Admin Admin Admin

Offical Course - Banner Feed Fix?
NO NO YES?
YES? YES?
  1. Admin will need to temporarily move course into an active term, change course end date, return course to correct term.
  2. Students can see the course as long as the instructor has not selected the option to "Restrict students from viewing course after end date".
  3. Students can participate in the course as long as the instructor has not selected the option "Users can only participate in the course between these dates".
  4. Instructor or Admin can change the Course End date and/or the options from 2 & 3 above.
  5. Admin will need to "Un-Conclude" course and then add back all of the users (instructors, TAs, & students).  Adding back the users will add back their assignment submissions.
  6. Resetting a course deletes the original copy of the course and creates a brand new empty course site which keeps all enrollments.  The old site can be restored by an admin using the Canvas Course ID and by re-enrolling all users.
  7. If original copy of course is restored, new copy should be deleted by an Admin.

? - Banner may over-write these changes during the next feed if the course is in a current, active term.

For more help, please contact canvas@yale.edu.