Courses in Past Terms

Term Dates are dates that are set globally which help to manage a user's "dashboard" and "all courses course lists" to show courses completed during a previous term under a "Past Enrollments" heading. Courses that are concluded by Term Dates are still visible to all instructors and participants, but cannot be modified after the end date. Admins can intervene to undo this, and Term Dates can be overridden by Course Dates.

Term Schedule

Fall, Spring, and Summer Courses- For fall, spring, and summer courses, the term date has been set globally for August 31st. For example:

Courses within Fall 2019 term will be placed into past terms on August 31st, 2019.

Courses within Spring 2019 term will be placed into past terms on August 31st, 2019.

Courses within Summer 2019 term will be placed into past terms on August 31st, 2019.

Access to Courses in Past Term

Although the courses are placed into the past term, you will still maintain access to the course:

Action Term Date Conclude
Instructor
Can View Course YES
Can add/edit content
NO
Course appears in Dashboard
NO
Course appears in Past Enrollments
YES
Student
Can view course YES
Can add/edit content NO
Course appears in Dashboard NO
Course appears in Past Enrollments YES
General
Enrollments move to "prior enrollments" NO
Can import content into next term courses (or new site) YES
Can be overridden/undone YES
Who can override/undo ADMIN
Official Course- Banner Feed Fix? NO

How to View Courses in Past Term

1. In order to view courses migrated from Classes*v2 to Canvas, click on "Courses" from the global navigation

2. From the side menu that appears, click “All Courses”

Click on "Courses" from global navigation

3. Under the "Past Enrollments" section, you will find a list of your past term courses. Courses whose term ends with a "T" denote that they were "Transferred" from Classes*v2

How to Add Users to Past Term Courses

When the course is in the past term, you cannot add users to the course (the +People button in the People tool will be grayed out or not present). In order to unlock the course to add users, please check out our help article on how to unlock courses in past terms.

Note: When adding users to the unlocked course, the invited users must accept their invitation prior to the course resuming the past term, read-only state. If the user has not accepted the invitation, then the course will have to be unlocked again.

Project Sites in Past Term

Project Sites typically are given the fiscal year for term. Meaning, that every July 1, project sites will be moved to the past term. For example, a project site with a FY19 term will go into the read-only state July 1, 2019.  Please keep this in mind when requesting sites within the spring. 

Project Sites will have to be requested for renewal each year by submitting this form: Project Site Request Form. Please note that a consultation may be required to ensure that Canvas is still meeting the needs of the project site or if there are any other new tools that might meet the needs of the project. 

For more help, please contact canvas@yale.edu.