Canvas @ YaleInstructor Guides Setting Up Your Course SiteHow do I publish/unpublish my Canvas course?

How do I publish/unpublish my Canvas course?

Notes:

  • A course will not be visible to students until it is published.
  • Once you have graded an assessment, you cannot unpublish your course.

Publishing Your Course:

View Course Home Page

Open you course and view the Course Home Page.

Publish Course

Click Publish Button on the Course Status

In the sidebar, click the Publish button.

Optional: choose a Home Page.

If the option comes up, choose a different home page, then click choose and publish

Select Choose and Publish from the pop up window.

View Course

View Course notification that the course was successfully updated.

A message will appear at the top of the screen confirming the publishing of your course.

Unpublishing Your Course

NOTE:  Once your course contains a graded submission, you can no longer unpublish your course.

View Course Home Page

View Course Home Page

Open you course and view the Course Home Page.

Unpublish Course

Choose the unpublish button under course status.

In the sidebar, click the Unpublish button.

View Course

View Course Status update

A message will appear at the top of the screen confirming the publishing of your course. You will also see a large box at the top of the page indicating that "This course is unpublished".

For more information on publishing a course, check out the beginning of term checklist.

If you would like to learn more about this tool, please consider attending one of our workshops or schedule a one-on-one consultation: