How do I publish or unpublish my Canvas course?

A course will not be visible to students until it is published, and once you have graded an assessment, you cannot unpublish your course. Please watch the video or the read the steps below to learn how to publish your Canvas course.

Publishing Your Course:

1. Open you course and view the Course Home Page.

2. In the sidebar, click the "Publish" button.

View Course Home Page and click "Publish" button

3. Optional: choose a Home Page.

4. Click "Choose and Publish" to publish the course.

Optionally choose a Home Page, click "Choose and Publish"

5. The "Course Status" on the sidebar will now show as published.

View Course notification that the course was successfully updated.

Unpublishing Your Course

1. Under the "Course Status", click "Unpublish" to unpublish the course.

Note: Once your course contains a graded submission, you can no longer unpublish your course.

Click "Unpublish"

For more help, please contact canvas@yale.edu.

×